What is Marmaduke?

May 19, 2010

Over the weekend Jay and I were driving and we were at a stop light in Downtown and next to us was the 92 bus, with an advertisement plastered to the side for the upcoming film Marmaduke, allegedly based on the newspaper comic of the same name. I turned to Jay and I asked, “What is – Marmaduke?”

“What’s Marmaduke?!” He screamed, “What do you mean ‘What’s Marmaduke?!’”

“What do you mean what do I mean? It sounds familiar, but I don’t know what it is.  What is it?”

“Didn’t you ever read the funny pages in the newspaper?” He asked.

“What are the ‘funny pages?’ I said. “The Op Eds?

After much research I’ve discovered that Marmaduke is a dog who is lazy, sexually promiscuous, selfish, often cruel, usually unable to do basic everyday tasks, and who likes to eat and sleep a lot. In short, he is me, but a dog.

These characteristics of a person, let alone a dog, do not a movie make.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Speaking of newspapers, here are a few local items I found of interest, with some brief commentary:

At least they got to keep the beehive.

  • “About 40 dead fish have been found floating on the surface of Echo Park Lake over the weekend” - What is killing the fish in Echo Park Lake, The Eastsider LA

It sounds like Dante’s Peak, but this is Los Angeles – so, maybe more Volcano?

Hugh? Help?

After two years, I had to move from downtown to nearby Highland Park, I am still downtown every day (really, every day) and frequent most if not all of the businesses offering downtowner discounts. I want an honorary resident card!

Yes, please.

AND, look below for a glimpse of some of the exciting things coming soon at DTI:

View all of our upcoming events on our website.

I’ll be back tomorrow with more, or, maybe, a little less.

-NEDJELKO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

