“My husband and I are either going to buy a dog or have a child. We can’t decide whether to ruin our carpet or ruin our lives.”

April 28, 2010

Okay. It’s lunchtime. I promised a new blog every day  “’round lunch time.” I skipped Monday and Tuesday because I was recovering from my Las Vegas weekend. I had the best time, except for one thing:

Nobody would see Rita Ruder’s show at Harrah’s with me.

Luckily, I can catch her show “Rita Rudner: Live From Las Vegas!” on KCET PBS on June 2nd.

Harrah’s is  paying me to blog about Rita Rudner, in case you were wondering.

Actually, that’s a lie. I just really like Rita Rudner.

It’s good to be back at work at the DTI and even better to be back in Los Angeles. Vegas is a blast but isn’t it also exhausting? All that drinking and walking can really take a lot out of a person.

Speaking of DTI, this Saturday we have Mochilla’s Timeless party. It’s going to be big. It’s going to be fun. It’s going to be loud.

We also have several films making their Los Angeles premieres at the LA Asian Pacific Film Festival next week. There are a lot of films I’d like to see, including The Actresses, which is allegedly a documentary-style, improvisational, Altman-esque film starring some of Korea’s most famous actresses. I just hope I won’t be scheduled to man the concession booth so I can check it out on May 8th. There’s also a lot of other interesting should-see & must-see films at the Festival. Go to their website to check them all out.

I’ve also been watching a lot of interesting films for free on Hulu. Polanski’s first feature Knife in the Water is up. I had never seen it before, and, yes, it was annoying with the 30 second commercial spots breaking up the tension every ten minutes or so, but I still loved it. Also: I have a confession to make: I never finished Chinatown. Don’t hate me. I do have a fond memory of seeing The Ninth Gate when I was fourteen years old in a theater all by myself. If the movie were frightening at all (besides the beautiful & bizarre opening credits) I would have been frightened. There’s also this charming documentary Billy the Kid on the site, which made me cry. Billy is like a young, even more odd, and male version of Little Edie with his tiny gems of quotable dialogue.

I’m going to wrap this up but I wanted to give two downtown shout outs. One to Old Bank DVD, which is the best dvd store in Los Angeles, hands down. And one to The Last Bookstore. The Last Bookstore opened recently and they have developed a large collection of used and vintage books. I go in there every day and walk out with something. I love it.

That’s all from me for now.

Jeeze, today’s blog post is like a big advertisement. Tomorrow’s I’ll just tell you a little story about my personal life, which is a redundancy I’ve never understood.

-N

Leave a Reply

